0

Carmella GH-1139

LOOKING FOR A FOREVER HOME

AT THIS TIME, Due to the high inventory of approved GoldHeart homes, if you are not approved, you cannot be considered for Carmella, but you can apply and get approval for other future dogs coming in.

Meet Carmella. If you are looking for a new family member with a loving, snuggly, velcro personality Carmella is it! She has come a long way and now loves pets.  She’s crated when no one is home. Loves to carry toys in her mouth – two at a time if she can. Carmella came to GH from being a breeder dog, who lived with a farmer since she was a pup. She is great with other dogs, and will need a home with another welcoming dog(s). She’s been with her foster brother, another golden, and walks in the neighborhood with other dogs. She has come really far in the weeks she’s been with her foster family! She has really warmed up and settled in.

Gender: F, cream color (spayed 2/10/2020)

Age: 3.5 years old (DOB AUG ‘16)

Weight: About 81 lbs – needs to lose a few

 Health: Carmella is up to date on her rabies and distemper vaccines. She is heartworm/lymes negative. She’s adjusting to her new living conditions. She now loves being in the house.

Personality: She is very friendly. Loves snuggles and strokes. She is a strong puller on a leash, so we’re working on leash manners.

Favorite Toys/Games: Every toy is her favorite! And if she can get two toys in her mouth at the same time she’s even happier.

Interaction with other dogs: She does well with her Golden foster brother and the neighborhood dogs. Due to Carmella’s background, and learning to trust other dogs before humans, she will only be placed in a home with another welcoming dog(s).

Interaction with cats: Unknown

Interaction with children: There are no younger children in the house.

Behavior in Car:  She doesn’t really understand the car. Carmella doesn’t want to get in.  We are working on using a ramp for access – but so far we’ve not had any success there.  Generally she’s been riding in the front seat foot well.  If you can pick her up and put her in the back of the car Carmella will jump out of the car.

People Interactions – home requirements: Carmella will do better with humans that are home more often than not. She is crated during the day at when her foster mom is at work. She does have free range in the house at night. She has really started to come out of her shell.  She is helping her foster mom ensure the house is always cleaned up. Carmella does pick up shoes, socks, whatever is lying about. She loves to have items in her mouth. She can get mischievous – so if she finds anything she thinks that means it’s hers. So little toys or knick-knacks all about is not a good match for this girl. Her forever home will need to baby(puppy)-proof their home before she arrives. Carmella sleeps on the carpet next to her foster mom’s side of the bed or on a doggie bed at foot of the bed.

Training, Food and Treats: Carmella knows sit – although she doesn’t always cooperate and sit. Her foster home consistently is making her sit for treats and to get on the leash to go out for walks. She is currently being fed 1.5cups 2x a day of dry kibble. She usually eats it. Sometimes when she’s not hungry she leaves some at the end. She will sniff at the edge of the counter – and put paws up if not corrected. If you try to eat from the couch, or a chair, she will come and stick her nose in your lap wanting to eat with you. Her foster home now eats from the table or kitchen island, and Carmella is starting to get when humans eat, it does not mean she eats too.

Leash manners: When walking on the leash, Carmella will pulls. Training will be required. It will make the walks more enjoyable for Carmella and for her adopter. She does like to meet new people.

Housetrained: Carmella is mostly house trained. She had a few accidents when she first arrived at her foster home.  She has been reliable for the past several weeks.  She even wakes up her foster mom when she needs to pee during the night.  Luckily she generally goes out, pees right away, and comes back in so they can go back to bed!  When her family is home, they leave the sunroom door open and she has access to a completely fenced in backyard.

Exercise Requirements: On a scale of 1-5 rating with 1 being a couch potato, and a 5…very energetic with high exercise requirements – Carmella is a 4. She needs daily outside time with walks and playing fetch w/ the ball. She is a typical 3.5yr old golden.

Fence requirements: A fenced yard would be best, but is negotiable.

If Carmella sounds like the dog for you, and you are an Approved GoldHeart Adopter, and feel you have a home that meets the requirements included above, please contact Lisa Rufo at heckercrofton@gmail.com to express your interest to be considered for her forever home.  Carmella is being fostered in Crofton, MD.

Adoption fee: $500, and $150 training Deposit*

*Due to Carmella’s lack of basic obedience skills, leash pulling, not knowing what is hers and what isn’t, and being unsure about cars, in addition to her adoption fee, there is a $150 refundable training deposit requirement. This deposit will be refunded to the adopting home when her GoldHeart foster mom receives certification of Carmella successfully completing the agreed to training program.

If you are not yet approved by Goldheart, and are in our SERVICE AREA, please complete an adoption application at https://goldheart.org/adopting-a-golden/adoption-application/. There is a $30 non-refundable application fee that must be received before the approval process starts. The approval process can take 4- 6 weeks (or longer) since we rely on an all-volunteer support network to process your application, conduct the home visit, and check references. If approved, you can then inquire about any other available dog that is looking for a forever home. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

 

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Comments are closed.