0

Maddie GH-1133

LOOKING FOR A FOREVER HOME

Meet Maddie! If you are looking for a new family member with a loving personality that loves to snuggle, but is more independent than most goldens, Maddie could be the girl for you! She has come a long way since arriving in her foster home, and now loves pets, snuggle time in bed (that didn’t take long at all), and sitting by your feet while you sit on the sofa, or right next to you if you invite her up (just check out this beauty!) Before arriving at GoldHeart, Maddie was a breeder dog who lived with a farmer since she was a pup. She has had a few litters. She is great with other dogs – she’s been with foster brother, another golden, and grandparent’s Aussies with no issues. She has come a long way during the weeks she’s been with her foster family, and has really warmed up and settled in. Maddie’s foster mom is quite smitten with her!

Gender: F spayed (11/20/19)

Age: Happy Birthday Beautiful Girl! 8 years old (DOB 12/3/11)

Weight: About 80 lbs

 Health: Maddie is up to date on her rabies and distemper vaccines. She is heartworm/lyme negative. She’s adjusting to her new living conditions, and is learning hardwood floor are slippery, so her foster mom ensures she takes her time and doesn’t do too many splits. A home with carpeting or other non-sliding flooring would suit her better. Vet recommends joint supplements going forward.

Personality: She is very friendly. Loves snuggles and strokes.

Favorite Toys/Games: Her favorite is a water bottle – from my perspective preferably empty otherwise we end up with water everywhere!  She likes the tug-o-war toy. She has a favorite stuffed pea.  See picture of her playing with her foster brother.

Interaction with other dogs: She does well with her Golden foster brother and her grandparents Aussie’s. Maddie will only be  placed in a home with another dog.

Interaction with cats: Unknown

Interaction with children:  There are no younger children in the house, but GoldHeart was told from her giveup owner that she was good with kids.

Behavior in Car: She mostly stands. She doesn’t stick her head out the window. We are using a ramp to get her into the back of SUV. She will jump out, but we are limiting that from happening with ramp use.

People Interactions – home requirements: Humans should be home more often than not in her forever home. Also, being a breeder dog most of her life, Maddie learned to trust dogs first, so again, a home with another welcoming dog(s) is a forever home requirement. She has been left up to 8 hrs – crated or corralled in the kitchen/family room. She has really started to come out of her shell. She can get mischievous – and if she finds anything, she thinks that means it’s hers. So little toys or knick-knacks all about are not a good match for this girl – it was like having to baby-proof her foster home all over again. She is allowed on the furniture in her foster home, and she sleeps in the bed often. If not in the bed, she sleeps on the carpet at the side of the bed. At night, the bedroom door is closed to keep her from wandering and perhaps getting into mischief. She has been to the groomers and did fine with nail trimming, bath and grooming. Consistent grooming is of course a need for this awesome breed.

Training, Food and Treats: Maddie knows sit and she always sits before treats. She is currently being fed 1.5 cups 2x a day dry kibble. She usually eats it. Sometimes when she’s not hungry she leaves some at the end. (When we tried feeding 2 cups it was too much and she didn’t eat it all.) She will sniff at the edge of the counter – and put paws up if not corrected. You cannot sit on a chair or couch to eat, because Maddie will come and stick her nose in and want to be fed. She is fine if you are eating at a traditional table.

Leash manners: She is a strong puller on a leash so her leash manners are a work in progress. Training should be considered by her forever home. This will make the walks more enjoyable for everyone. She likes to meet new people.

Housetrained: Maddie is house trained. She had a few accidents as she adjusted to being in the house.

Exercise Requirements: On a scale of 1-5 rating with 1 being a couch potato, and a 5…very energetic with high exercise requirements, Maddie is a 3. She needs outside time with walks and playing fetch with the ball. For an 8 year old she does have a lot of energy.

Fence requirements: A fenced yard would be best, but negotiable.

If Maddie sounds like the dog for you and you are an Approved GoldHeart Adopter, and feel you have a home that meets the requirements included above, please contact her foster mom at heckercrofton@gmail.com to express your interest to be considered for her forever home.  Maddie is being fostered in Crofton, MD.

Adoption fee: $300

If you are not yet approved by Goldheart, and are in our SERVICE AREA, please complete an adoption application at http://www.goldheart.org/adopting-a-golden/adoption-application/. There is a $30 non-refundable application fee that must be received before the approval process starts. The approval process can take 6 weeks or more since we rely on an all-volunteer support network to process your application, conduct the home visit, and check references. If approved, you can then inquire about Maddie  (if still available), and you can also inquire about any other available dog that is looking for a forever home. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

 

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Comments are closed.